Author Extraordinaire… more or less

Who knew writing a book would be so complicated and time consuming?  I had a dream about 6 months ago. You know how you wake up from a dream and think it would make a great movie, but the more you think about it, the more it just doesn’t make any sense? Well, I woke up from THIS dream and could not go back to sleep. The details were so vivid, and the emotion was so raw. I got out of bed and jotted down the whole story…and was still obsessively writing when daylight arrived.

The next morning, I told my husband about it, and he said, “You have to write the whole story down. That would make an excellent movie.”

Later that evening, we were having dinner with our kids. I told them about it, and my daughter said, “Oh, I just got goosebumps. You have to write a book.”

On the way home, my husband and I were discussing how to write a book and what to do with it once it’s finished. We passed a billboard that said something like, “Publish Your Book! Go to blahblahblah.com”.  Are you kidding me?? Okay fine. I’ll write the damn book already.

I did some research as far as getting a manuscript to a publisher vs. self-publishing and found that it was all do-able. Getting the finished product into the hands of readers is a whole different story. Marketing, social media, book readings, etc. I don’t know that I want to be a world-renowned author. I just have a story to tell. But then again, so did some very successful authors.

So…I’m writing a book.

Six months into it, and about 1/2 way done, I’m losing my focus. I know that the process of any creation is to lose some drive at this point, and that it will come back in full force soon, but I’m anxious to have it finished. The hardest part is done. The chronological order of sequences and histories was the most difficult part to tackle. I almost put a full-blown life-size story board on the walls of my office to make sure all the pieces fit together. That was a pain in the you-know-what. But thank goodness, that part is now done and over.

Now, I’m at the next hardest part…the second half of the book is a ghost story. I can see living people and ghosts communicating on the big screen, but I’m finding it extremely difficult to put that same vision into print. I guess I just have to tackle it and see what happens. Maybe I should forego the book idea and just write a screen play.

And, maybe when it’s finished, I’ll post the first couple chapters here.

….in about 2 years….

3 responses to “Author Extraordinaire… more or less

  1. It’s always difficult to articulate a vision, but you seem to be progressing just fine. If you are just now hitting a wall after six months then maybe you should really consider building a career as a writer. Seriously, I hit a wall at least once a week.

  2. Firstly, I would like to congratulate you for getting your book started!

    I actually had the same experience – had a vivid dream, woke up and thought it would one day make an amazing movie. The issue was that my dream formulated the beginning of the movie, serving the introduction of the story. So, I have been struggling developing the plot, but after an entire year (yikes!), I finally have the puzzle pieces. As I am a current grad student and work full-time, I haven’t been able to be fully dedicated. So I am taking off next semester and am challenging myself to write as much this manuscript as possible.

    What I have learned, through writing poetry, is that when the writing and ideas come, they come. And we all go through the writer’s block. Whenever I feel like its overwhelming, I dream the dream again or I tell someone new about it. It revives the moment, the emotion, the drive and I remember why I am doing this and how amazing the outcome would be.

    So, all I can say is: Keep Writing!

    My best wishes to you!

    Sincerely,
    Mariela

Leave a Reply

